April Fool’s Day Apocalypse

Tomorrow is April Fool’s Day, so I thought I’d do a themed post for that lovely holiday that always catches me by surprise.

Luke 20:16- 21- And he spake a parable unto them, saying, The ground of a certain rich man brought forth plentifully: 17 And he thought within himself, saying, What shall I do, because I have no room where to bestow my fruits? 18 And he said, This will I do: I will pull down my barns, and build greater; and there will I bestow all my fruits and my goods. 19 And I will say to my soul, Soul, thou hast much goods laid up for many years; take thine ease, eat, drink, and be merry. 20 But God said unto him, Thou fool, this night thy soul shall be required of thee: then whose shall those things be, which thou hast provided? 21 So is he that layeth up treasure for himself, and is not rich toward God.

So, what I am trying to tell you from that Bible verse is that a fool is one that does not prepare for the right things.

We all know there are different levels of doomsday preparedness from the freaks to the inept, but what I would like to at least see you ready for are the normal disasters you might face. I doubt that any of us live in an area that is completely free of natural disasters, be it hurricanes, tsunamis, tornados, or anything else. Manmade disasters? Well, if you live anywhere near a business, highway, railroad track, or people, you’re susceptible to that too.

Here are a few items I recommend to move you toward basic preparedness…

Doomsday Preppers season 1– This show mostly profiles the crazy folk, so it’s a good place to see the fringe element and then find your happy medium that works for you. You can learn a lot from watching these folks.

untitled

SOS Rations Emergency Food Bar– These things usually taste like crap, but it’s a good idea to have some food stored away that is portable, compact, and has a decent shelf life. In a disaster situation, taste isn’t important.

MSR Miniworks EX Microfilter– You can do without a lot of things for a while, but water is not one of them. Drink bad water, and you’ll only make things worse. Think you’d never be without water in the US, just ask folks from last year’s chemical spill in Charleston WV. The citizens of a modern state capitol could not drink water from their taps for some time.

1

Be Ready When the Sh*t Goes Down by Forrest Griffin– If you’re going to read about being ready, you might as well have fun when you do it. This prepping book by a professional UFC fighter is simple, straight to the point, and hilariously funny.

Gerber Bear Grylls Fire Starter– Fire just might make the difference for you. Not only can you cook, boil water, and create heat, but sitting around a nice outdoor fire also creates a wonderful sense of comfort and community.

gb

There you go. For under a couple hundred dollars, you have a head start on the 99% once something bad happens.

This message was written by Dr. David Powers. You can always find me at www.drdavidpowers.com. Thanks for reading!

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

